How Many Rakats Are There In Namaz | Salat | Salah | Rakaat


Salat also referred as namaz is one of the most important and one of the five pillars for people who follow Islam i.e, muslims.


  1. Shahadah that is declaration of faith, 2 shahadas include – “There is no God But Allah” and “Prophet (S.A.W) is the messenger of Allah”.
  2. Salat or prayer which asks all muslims to pray face to face to Almighty God facing the Mecca or Kabah.
  3. Zakat or charity which include giving off some money (2.5% of one’s income) to the needy. Though it is not mentioned in Quran but is a part of Hadith.
  4. Roza or fasting in the pure and auspicious month of Ramzan. In Ramzan, the Roza begins from dawn and till sunset one is not allowed to eat, drink, involve in sexual practice or smoke. However, after dawn one can do all. The aim of this is to show to muslims that all are equally needy upon the assistance of Allah.
  5. Hajj or pilgrimage which is the holy pilgrimage to Mecca which each muslim has to perform once in his or her lifetime during the 12th month of lunar Calendar.

However, this article will focus and throw light on salat and will tell how many times Namaz is offered. Why Namaz is important and benefits of namaz.

Know More About SALAT OR NAMAZ

Salat is the prayer that was taught to Prophet Mohammad (S.A.W) by Allah. It is obligatory for everyone to offer Namaz expect those women who are menstruating or few days after they have delivered a baby and also children who have not attained puberty. Namaz is one of the five pillars of Islam and it is the obligatory thing which muslims have to perform. Each namaz takes around 5-10 minutes. So in total just 30 minutes of your 24 hours is what you have been asked to give to Allah. There are 5 times when a muslim should offer namaz. Early in the morning (Fadr), afternoon or mid day (Zuhr), evening (Asr), near sunset (Maghrib) and after sunset or late evening (Isha). During the namaz one has to face towards the Kabah called Qibla.

Rakats in Namaz, Salat And Its Importance, How Many Rakaats are there in Namaz, Five Pillars of Islam, Benefits of Salah to body, number of rakat in salat

However, namaz means submission to Allah’s Will. It is that time when muslim is closest to Him and can pray and say his heart to Allah.

For offering namaz, one has to go to mosque specially men as Islam believes that it becomes stronger in brotherhood and also praying together is very important in Islam. However, women is forbidden to go to the mosque is a myth. Because, its the greatest example is when every Muslim goes for Hajj. They are asked to pray together in Masjid-e-Nabwi, the Masjid of Prophet Muhammad (S.A.W). Therefore, there is no division among the men and women in the Masjid though normally women and men pray in Separate enclosures.

Number Of Rakats In Namaz And Their Significance

Fajr22 – – –
Zuhr442 2 –
Asr44 – – –
Maghrib –322 –
Juma424 + 22
Number of Rakaats In Namaz

There are 5 namaz which is mandatory for every muslim to offer and each salat has its one Rakat. Namely Farz, sunnat, nafl and witr. Before every namaz, one has to perform Wudu which includes washing hands, face, neck, nose, feet and gargling. These 5 namaz includes


It is one of the most important salats. Is comprises of 2 Sunnat and 2 farz, which is performed early in the morning, before sunrise to begin your day with the remembrance of Allah. It is important because as said by Prophet Mohammad (S.A.W)

“Whoever performs the Prayer before the rising of the sun and the Prayer before its setting will not enter Hell.”

Second reason is that the angels which Allah sends witness the person who offers Fajr namaz as it is mentioned in Quran

“Establish prayer at the decline of the sun [from its meridian] until the darkness of the night and [also] the Qur’an of dawn. Indeed, the recitation of dawn is ever witnessed.”


This is the second namaz which is offered at mid day when muslims have to take a break from their work and submit themselves to Allah. It consists of 4 sunnat, 4 farz, 2 sunnat and 2 nafls. However, like every other salat zuhr is also important. But to be precise and to tell its importance, these are the lines said by Prophet Mohammad (S.A.W) which states

“Whoever observes the practice of performing four Rakat before Zuhr prayer and four (2 sunnah, 2 nafl) after the zuhr prayer, Allah will send him against the Fire (of Hell).”

This means that one who offers Zuhr will be given protection from fire of hell.

3. ASR

The third important prayer which is done in the evening or late afternoon. It comprises of 4 sunnahs before 4 farz. The importance of this prayer as stated by Prophet Mohammad (S.A.W) is

“He who observes Al-Bardan (i.e. Fajr and Asr prayers) will enter Jannah.”

This means anybody who offers these two namaz will be saved from hell. It has been emphasized on these 2 salats. Because it becomes quite difficult for people to offer them as in fajr one is in deep sleep and asr when the person is tired from all day work.


This is the fourth salat whose time starts with sunset. It includes 3 farz, 2 sunnahs and 2 nafls. However, if one does not offer this namaz, he or she should be badly punished by the Allah. Its benefits includes that whoever offers Maghrib. Allah showers all his blessings on that person and give success in wealth, health and family.


This is the last salat or namaz that one has to offer. The time for isha begins with the of end of maghrib time and continues till midnight. However, it is good to offer this namaz within 2 hours of its commenced time. It includes 4 sunnahs, 4 farz, 2 sunnahs, 2 nafls, 3 witr and 2 nafls. The importance of this prayer as said by Prophet Muhammad in hadith is

“Whoever offers Isha salah in jama’ah it is as though he spent half the night in worship. And whoever offers fajr salah in jama’ah it is as though he spent the entire night in worship.”

Therefore, by offering this namaz you can get reward of worshipping half night which indeed is big. Therefore, do not miss it. In Quran, it is specified that offering namaz With Jamaat In Masjid improves brotherhood.

There are also other Muslim prayers along with these five compulsory prayers
  1. Juma prayer (offered only on Friday noon)
  2. Tahjjud prayer (offered late night but it is not a compulsory prayer)
  3. Tarawih prayer (offered with the Isha prayer only in the Holy month of Ramadan)
  4. Eid prayers (offered on the day of Eid ul Fitr and Eid al Adha).


There are various benefits of namaz that can help you keep mentally, physically and spiritually clean and healthy.

  1. Wudhu that every muslim is asked to perform before any namaz involves washing your hands, feet, neck, nose, ears and gargling at least 5 times a day which helps you keep away germs, dust particles and any kind of dirt thus keeping you clean and wealthy in terms of health.
  2. It is a good form of exercise and offering namaz can help you loose extra calories. Because of all the actions that one has to perform and can help you be fit.
  3. It also helps your to maintain your flexibility and helps you stretch your muscles and prevent them from getting stiff. Therefore, Namaz is also helpful to people who are suffering from arthritis.

However, each and every muslim should offer namaz as it has its own benefits.

Q1. How Many Rakats Are There In Namaz?

1. FAJR – 2 Rakat Sunnah + 2 Rakat Fard
2. ZUHR – 4 Rakat Sunnah + 4 Rakat Fard + 2 Rakat Sunnah + 2 Rakat Nafil
3. ASR – 4 Rakat Sunnah + 4 Rakat Fard
4. Magrib – 3 Rakat Fard + 2 Rakat Sunnah + 2 Rakat Nafil
5. Isha – 4 Rakat Sunnah + 4 Rakat Fard + 2 Rakat Sunnah + 2 Rakat Nafil + 2 Rakat Witr + 2 Rakat Nafil

Q2. What Are The Five Pillars Of Islam?

1. Shahadah
2. Salat Or Namaz
3. Zakat Or Charity
4. Roza Or Fasting
5. Hajj Or PilGrimage


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here